Makilala TV Turns Five! Congratulations!

We are happy and proud of our FAPCNY colleagues whose cable TV show Makilala (Get to know in Pilipino) turned five years old this year. Congratulations to co-hosts and producers Jen Furer, Rachelle Peraz Ocampo, and FAPCNY vice president Cristina Pastor for this engaging, fun, and insightful show.


It is produced at the Manhattan Neighborhood Network (MNN) and airs every other Thursday on MNN, BronxNet, and QPTV.


A gratitude party was held at the MNN on June 9, 2018 which was participated by select guests. In photo with Rachelle, Jen, and Cristina (right-most) is Zenaida Mendez (second from left), the director for MNN El Barrio Community Center.  Cheers for the next five years and beyond!

Lindy Rosales Gets Health Reporting Fellows

Congratulations to FAPCNY’s Lindy Rosales for being chosen one of the Health Reporting Fellows for Spring 2018 of the Center for Community and Ethnic Media, a unit of the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism.

Lindy is a freelance reporter and occasionally writes for The FilAm magazine. As a fellow, she will be developing story ideas and writing about them, which is a good fit because Lindy is also a registered nurse. Congrats from all of us in the press club!

Don Tagala Bags His 11th Telly Award

Don Tagala Bags His 11th Telly Award


Congratulations to our very own Don Tagala of ABS-CBN TFC and membership committee chair of FAPCNY for having won the 2018 Bronze Award in the 39th Annual Telly Awards on May 25, 2018.

Don won the General-Food and Beverage for online category for the story: Pinay Top Chef Frances Tariga Cooks for Prestigious James Beard House. This was aired on August 2, 2017 and is his 11th award from The Telly.

The Telly Awards is the premier award honoring video and television across all screens. Established in 1979, The Telly Awards receives over 12,000 entries from all 50 states and 5 continents. Entrants are judged by The Telly Awards Judging Council—an industry body of over 200 leading experts including advertising agencies, production companies, and major television networks, reflective of the multiscreen industry The Telly Awards celebrates. Partners of The Telly Awards include NAB, StudioDaily, Stash Magazine, and Digiday.



FAPCNY elects new set of officers for 2018-2019

FAPCNY elects new set of officers for 2018-2019

 By Tambi Wycoco


NEW YORK (iiNNS) — The Filipino American Press Club of New York (FAPCNY) recently voted digital magazine editor Marivir Montebon President of of the six-year-old organization.
Also elected along with Montebon, editor of OSM magazine, are Cristina Pastor, Vice President; Tambi Wycoco, Secretary; and Momar Visaya, Treasurer. Voted to serve as members of the Board of Directors were Grace Labaguis, Noel Pangilinan, Lambert Parong, and Don Tagala. Immediate Past President Ricky Rillera is also a member of the board as stipulated in the FAPCNY bylaws.

The FAPCNY is a community of reporters, editors, photographers, bloggers and marketing/advertising executives. It was formed in 2011 recognizing a need for producers of news to organize themselves and professionalize their ranks. One of its flagship projects is the Journalism Scholarship Program for high school seniors entering Journalism.

Newly-elected President Montebon began as a campus journalist in her alma mater, the University of San Carlos (USC) in Cebu, Philippines. She has a degree in Psychology from USC in 1988 and is currently pursuing a Master’s degree Program in Not-for-profits at the Unification Theological Seminary in Manhattan. In 2012, she received a Woman in Media Award from the Pan-American Concerned Citizens League of New York and New Jersey. She has published five books, two in Cebu and three in New York City. The latest, “In the Belly of the Beast,” about human trafficking, is published by the University of San Carlos Press.

Pastor, who was elected Vice President, is the founding editor of the online news magazine The FilAm. She is also a co-founder and co-host of Makilala TV, the first online talk show for Filipino Americans in the New York Metropolitan Area.

The members of the board are:

Grace Labaguis is a Marketing Consultant for GMA International, as well as Marketing Director for Synergy Production & Marketing, Inc.

Noel Pangilinan is the Editor of Open City Magazine, a publication of the Asian American Writer’s Workshop. He is an adjunct faculty at the College of Mount Saint Vincent, teaching Filipino language and Philippine history courses.

Lambert Parong is a freelance photographer. He established Kababayan Media Corp., a NYC-based multimedia start-up. It highlights news and events affecting the Filipino community in Metro New York.

Don Tagala is the award-winning video journalist of ABS-CBN North America’s “Balitang America.”

Momar Visaya is the Editor in Chief of Asian Journal. He is also a food blogger.

Ricky Rillera is the Executive Editor for USA of the Philippine Daily Mirror and was the immediate past president of the Press Club.

(Tambi Wycoco is the Editor of IINS news service and the FAPCNY secretary.)